Wednesday was the first week of round two of my chemo. It went even better. No nausea, no headache, just sleepy. I thought I’d missed all of the side effects when Friday went so well.  Well… until Saturday. I woke up with a bad case of nausea that lasted the entire day. It was miserable. At least it’s over now.   I’ve been sleeping more than my normal 6 1/2 to 7 hours a night – which is good. And, I’ve been trying to get as much work done as I can while I’ve been feeling better. My illness has already cost me at work.  In the midst of the most traumatic days when I first learned about my diagnosis, I bungled an appointment that has likely lost me a client. It’s a new person involved – so no history to fall back on. But, I know I can only do so much as hard as that can be at times.  Next Wednesday is my 2nd chemo of this round. Then on the 29th I have my follow-up CT scan. That will tell how effective the treatments have been. Then back on chemo the following week.   Overall, I feel fine most of the time. People are surprised how normal I look. Keeping busy means I don’t dwell on it nearly so much. I rarely cry these days – unlike the first weeks of the news. All along there are times when it just doesn’t seem possible that this has all happened. Then there are hard times, like when I wake up early in the morning and can’t get back to sleep. That’s when it’s hard to avoid the realities. On the positive side, I am focusing on nutrition. Restoring my red & white blood counts as best as I can is important to handling future treatment. I am reading and gathering information. And will make changes as my stomach allows.

