I just finished testing to assess the effectiveness of these last 2 cycles of chemo. Tuesday was my CT scan (chest, abdomen, thorax) and today was my PET scan. We will get the results on Monday afternoon when we meet with Dr. B. We will also learn more about the trial and about the latest in treatment. Dr. B will be just back from the annual American Society of Clinical Oncologists (ASCO) conference.

 

The PET scan was supposed to take about 2 1/2 hours, but took most of the day. We finally got out of there after 4:30. Most of the delay was because of the problems getting an IV started for the contrast. I quit counting the sticks after 6. My veins kept “blowing.” It sounds worse than it is. The vein collapses and then balloons when they test it with saline. The worst part is when the technician “fishes” around trying to thread the IV in. After all the attempts – including one in my foot, we were given the choice of a trip to the infusion center for an IV line or waiting for the senior tech to try. We opted to wait the 45 minutes for the tech to arrive. He said he’d try once before sending us out for the IV line. Luckily, he got it on the first try. The contrast took less than a minute then the IV was out. The chemo is blamed for the condition of my veins. I am sure I will need a port for any future chemo treatments. 

 

Throughout all of this Ken was patient, supportive, comforting and loving – as always. He has made this long ordeal bearable. Each day I count my blessings for having such a wonderful partner by my side.

