My port placement went well. The best part was the drugs. VERY relaxing. The port goes under the skin. Now, when I need an IV or blood test, a needle can be poked through my skin to the port. No more fishing for a vein. My least favorite part of IVs. Here’s a link to see what they look like. http://www.angiodynamics.com/pages/products/smart_port_ct.asp

I’ve sat down to blog many times this past week or so. But, I’ve been too tired or stressed out. I’ve had chest pains and back aches of varying degrees. If I take a pain killer I end up asleep on the couch. Not my preference. The last several days I’ve been waking up early with earaches and headaches. This morning was no different – day 3 of the same headache. But, it’s finally gone. Yeah!

In the middle of all this was the Lung Cancer Walk. I was so excited I woke up early and couldn’t wait to leave for the event. And that was with the time change! It was an amazing experience. So many people showing their support and concern. So many smiles. The goal for donations was blown away. There were so many participants many didn’t get a t-shirt. And, there were special ball caps for survivors with “survivor” embroidered on the back.

I got to meet, Chris, a survivor I’ve known over the phone and the occasional email since August. She joined Team Wheatley and brought in more donations and helped push us into 5th highest earning team.

The low-point was learning of the loss of Linda. She was one of the four walk organizers. She died a few days before the walk. It was good to see so many of her friends and family there in huge numbers.

I remember when I first learned about the walk. It was planned for November 2008. I was struggling through chemo and pneumonia and wondered if I’d make it. Later when it was postponed to March, I thought, yea, I will. I’ll make it. Thank all of you for all your help and for being there with me in body or spirit or both and for getting me there. I couldn’t do this without you!

