Ken and I were up well before 5am and headed to the City of Hope for our 8am appointment. It was a stressful drive. The closer we got to Duarte and 8am, the worse traffic got. And, our Garmin kept losing it’s signal. We ended up on the side of the freeway looking through maps I keep stashed in the trunk of the car. It would have all been worth it if we’d gotten good news.

We were shocked to hear there were no trials at all I was eligible for. We were shocked, angry, and devastated. Why couldn’t we have learned this over the phone? Dr. B sent us there because she did find a good trial. None! The drive home was hard on us both.

But, Dr. B did not give up. She called her colleague (NOT the one I was able to get the appointment with) and she assured her there is a trial. Dr. B also called ahead to her colleague at USC Norris Cancer Center. This should help get an earlier appointment than I was able to get on my own. Now I have to package up all my records again. Of course I have to produce a new set each time. I may get an appointment next week. Then there’s juggling radiation.

I won’t be able to start a new clinical trail until 2 weeks after I complete radiation. I am scheduled for 10 treatments. But, I missed one last week while in ER and I will miss one this week because of the holiday. That means I should finish next Wednesday.

